Vegan Peanut Butter Banana Cookies

Published November 15, 2011 by ciannucci

Hi lovers! Hope everyone is having a stress-free week…if not, eat a cupcake. Or a cookie. In fact, make THESE cookies and have one of those. Your stress will float away.

I went out on Friday night with a bunch of my favorite girlfriends in Hartford. One of my friends Kim told me about a vegan cookie recipe she always makes. At first I was hesitant…I don’t usually do vegan. But I figured it was worth a shot! Hey what’s better then a delicious cookie???? A HEALTHY delicious cookie!

Banana & Peanut Butter Flaxseed Cookies

Ingredients:
2 cups whole-wheat pastry flour
2 tbsp ground flaxseed
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp sea salt
1 medium banana, mashed
3/4 cup pure maple syrup
1 cup unsalted natural peanut butter
2 tsp pure vanilla
1/4 cup mini dark chocolate chips, optional

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a large baking sheet with parchment paper. In a medium bowl, combine flour, flaxseed, baking soda and salt. Set aside. In a large bowl, mash banana with a fork. Stir in maple syrup, peanut butter and vanilla until well combined. Add flour mixture to banana mixture, stirring just to combine; do not over-mix. Fold in chocolate chips, if desired. Drop dough by rounded tablespoons onto baking sheet. Bake for 10 to 12 minutes, until lightly browned. Transfer sheet to a wire rack to cool slightly, about 2 minutes.
Remove cookies from sheet and let cool directly on rack.

 

Now you don’t actually have to use flaxseed. I only had flaxseed oil and not flaxseed meal so I left it out altogether and they came out GREAT. Now here is the test….TRY to eat just 1. That’s the problem…they aren’t so bad for you. Not filled with unnecessary sugar and fatty oils. However; there’s no way you are getting away with 1. The first time I made these…I ate 4. My dad…5. My mom….6. Yes, they are that scrumptious.

One comment on “Vegan Peanut Butter Banana Cookies

  • Leave a Reply

