Banana Bread/Muffins

Published January 17, 2012 by ciannucci

This post is dedicated to the lovely Liz Larson. Also known as Lizard, chicka wicka Liz Larson, or my favorite “Blizz.” Her  equally lovely mother requested a banana bread/muffin recipe and so here we go.

But wait, before I explain the recipe I have to share something with you all. Blizz and her mom Blizzard recently went to a cake decorating class at Carlos Bake Shop in NJ. They had a tour of the bakery, decorated their cakes with fondant and then cut the line at the bake shop to get some delicious treats. I have a bone to pick with Miss Blizz because she did not tell me about this until last week after she had already gone. Don’t you people know this is my DRREAAMMM????? Although she didn’t tell me immediately, I am still grateful that I now know. Because guess who is going to a cake decorating class for my birthday at Carlos Bake Shop?? MMEEE!!! (And mommy, of course) All thanks to Blizz, tipping me off to this amazing experience!

Okay, where were we? Oh yes. Banana Bread..or muffins. Whichever you prefer. 

Now this bread is much more moist than any other banana bread you’ve had. Why, you ask? The secret ingredient….greek yogurt! You can use any kind of plain greek yogurt..Fage is my personal favorite. 

Greek Yogurt Banana Bread

Prep: 15 minutes
Cook: 55 minutes
 
Yield: 12 servings
Ingredients
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup sugar
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
1/4 cup butter, melted
2 large eggs
11/2 cups mashed ripe banana (about 3 bananas)
1 (6-ounce) container nonfat Greek yogurt (I used Fage)
1/2 cup chopped walnuts (optional)
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 Cooking spray
 
Preparation
1. Preheat oven to 350°F.

2. Lightly spoon flour into dry measuring cups; level with a knife. Combine flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, butter, eggs, bananas, yogurt, walnuts, if desired, and vanilla in a large bowl, mixing well. Pour batter into an 8 1/2 x 4 1/2-inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray. Bake at 350° for 55 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan on a wire rack; remove from pan. Cool completely on wire rack.

 
 
Image

Leave a comment